How I Spent My Summer Vacation, Part 5

Parachute!
I honestly adore these kids.

I got to attend two shows in one week. Between dates on their tour with Goo Goo Dolls and Michelle Branch, they played a free radio show in San Jose & a headlining show in Fresno. Sadly, I couldn’t attend the GGD shows because of steeeep ticket prices, so I was thankful for these two!

Mix106.5 is probably my favorite radio station, ever. They know how to put on a good, free show. They always pick my favorite artists. I am always happy. #endshamlesspromo

I went to the show with my friend Jaelynn, who pretty much knew nothing about the band, but was won over by the end (or by Kit’s good looks! Ha!)

We got to say a short hello, and was told by Nate, “I stayed up reading the book you recommended to me until 3am this morning!” Gotta love it.

Afterwards, we met up with Jaelynn’s roommate/my “twinsie” Cindy Lou for some hang time.

We had lunch together, and then we headed back to their place for what ended up being a couple of hours of Wii playing time. Before that, I do what I do every single time I’m in San Jose/Bay Area…took a trip to Philz Coffee. (Honestly, it’s the best coffee in the whole entire world and I wish there was one in my city! Gah! An hour and a half away is not cutting it for me!)

Mint Mojito Iced Coffee. Mmmm…

I had to work the next day, so I couldn’t stay very late, but it was fun seeing (the boys &) girls for the day! 🙂

A few days later, the kids were back in my parts of CA (sorta…it was a 2.5 hour drive…) Fresno is a little ghetto and I prefer to never go there but…where good music is, so am I!

This was my idea of a perfect show, though. Small, intimate crowd. Cute venue. Good opening act. Got to hang out with one of my BFF’s, Lisa ❤

All was well until a very obnoxious whoo-ing drunk girl got in front of me and proceeded to harass the band during their set, and continually bring one more drunk friend up at a time. It killed the mood for me for a while, and I had to separate her in my mind away from the show so I could continue watching the boys and not punch anyone in their face.

After the show we chatted it up with the boys for a bit, and then I got all geeky on them and pulled out my Harry Potter notepad and asked them to participate in my Rock N Read segment. They were totally down for it, so I’m glad! I think it’s going to be awesome 🙂

Afterwards, I headed back home, and then talked to Lisa for a bit because her drive was almost twice as long as mine! Yowsa! I think I went to sleep close to 3am?!

I cannot wait to see these boys again come November! 🙂

Posted on September 11, 2011, in how i spent my summer vacation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment