Parachute, San Francisco.

To break up the Matt shows to not getting sick of him (HA!) I threw a Parachute show into the mix.

I got home from Arizona on a Tuesday. I went to work Wednesday, and a half day Thursday. “You’re leaving again ALREADY?” my roommate asked me. Yes. She and my cat were having Joslyn withdraws, I’m pretty certain.

Thursday afternoon I drove up to San Francisco and picked Megan up from work. She was going to baby sit my car for the weekend while I took one last little adventure. We’ll get to that soon. But first we were off to see my loves in Parachute.

Parachute played at one of my favorite little venues in the city, Slim’s. Let me just tell you though. The short 2 hours we waited in line felt excruciating. It was COLD and raining. Seeing as I just sweat half my body weight driving home a few days earlier, it seemed even colder.  A temperature drop of about 50 degrees is NOT fun. I’m not a fan of winter.

Once inside we barely had time to defrost before the show started. I can’t tell you who opened the show, because the band was honestly so terrible, and it seemed like the longest 20 minute waste of life. They were young, so I give them the benefit of the doubt of just needing more practice, but seriously how did they score the opening gig? I don’t know. To prove my point: “This song is call “XES”. It’s sex, backwards.” Save me. Although…the drummer and bassist who were twins named Fred and George, no shit, had such amazing curly hair I had to get a photo…

Kate Voegel played next. I’ve seen her live before. She’s adorable. I’m not afraid to admit I own every season of One Tree Hill on DVD (she plays the character Mia on the show) so I didn’t mind watching her. She did give Megan and I really annoyed looks through out her set though. I’m sorry we don’t know any of your lyrics? Give me your cute skirt you were wearing and I’ll forgive you.

Then, Parachute! You’ve probably figured out how much I adore them, by now, seeing as I’ve written about them on my blog a few times.

They have grown so much as a band in the past 2.5 years of me attending their shows. These boys are definitely going somewhere, and I’m glad I can say I’ve been there since the beginning. Please go see them live if you have the chance. They are amazing. Despite the fact that over half of their fan base is under-aged girls, I promise you it’s not “girl music”. I know a dude in his 30’s who digs them live. Parachute. Check ’em.

Their set was sadly cut short due to time curfew, but I dealt with what I got. Afterwards I stuck around to say hi to the guys because it had been awhile.

I had overheard Will talking to someone about holiday shows the following month, and how they were playing one in my town, so I pretty much jumped on him when he came to say hi. “What is this I overheard about you playing in my city, Will?!” Oh, happiness.

After chatting it up with all the guys, Megan and I got crepes from the crepe truck across the street (nutella, coconut & banana, yes fatness please!) and headed home.

The next morning I was off to Nashville!

Posted on December 26, 2011, in Tour Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

