The top 5 albums of 2011 that you should have been listening to.

 

Holy smokes, where did this year go? Since 2011 is almost officially over, I wanted to do a countdown of my top 5 favorite albums that were released this year. Music has played a significantly large part of my life this year, and these albums are the best of the best! The cream of the crop! The ones I listened to the most to get me through 2011.

Alright, let’s start!

5. Marc Broussard – Marc Broussard

If you don’t know who Marc is, you really should. I was introduced to Marc by ways of him as an opening act for Maroon 5 back in 2003. I loved Marc’s earlier albums from the ’02 – ’04 era the best, and this album is more of a throw back to that time. He’s from Louisiana, so you get that funk, mixed with the typical southern soul & blues, and some pop. Marc has this amazingly huge powerful voice…and he’s a little dude. On first seeing Marc live, most ask: “How the heck is THAT voice coming out of THAT little guy?”

I can’t say this is my favorite of his 5 studio albums (that goes to Carencro), but Marc doesn’t leave one disappointed, and it’s still a really great album!

Personal Favorite Tracks: Only Everything, Lucky

4. The Civil Wars – Barton Hallow

Not only was this one of my favorite albums of the year, but it was also my favorite new band discovery of 2011! The Civil Wars consists of two singers, Joy and John, and their music is just hauntingly beautiful. All tracks on the album consists of just their voices, an acoustic guitar and the occasional piano. They are brilliant. I need to see them perform live.

Personal Favorite Tracks: C’est la mort, To Whom It May Concern, I Want You Back, Poison & Wine

3. Kelly Clarkson – Stronger

I have been a Kelly Clarkson fan since the beginning. Its not often that I find a female singer that I love, but Kelly just captivates me. She’s also probably the most laid back, adorably sweet celebrity I’ve met! I’ve seen her live a few dozen times, and the woman can sing.

Stronger is a really…strong album. But honestly, I wasn’t too enthralled by her last album, minus a few songs, so I needed another Breakaway or My December. There’s a good mix of upbeat vs. slow songs. I listened to it for 6 straight hours on a roadtrip when it first came out, which proved to me that I was going to love it. You MUST purchase the delux version, because the bonus songs are badass, and should have been included on the regular album.

Personal Favorite Tracks: The War Is Over, Breaking Your Own Heart, Stronger, Dark Side

2. Parachute – The Way It Was

You knew this was coming. Parachute. What can I say that I haven’t said already?

The Way It Was is Parachute’s sophomore album. Sophomore slump? Not here. This album seems to pick up where the last ended. It is lyrically and instrumentally stronger than the first. Put a band on the road, add  a couple years experience and out of it ou’ll get a beautifully crafted album. I can’t even begin to express just how much of group of talented guys this band is. I cannot wait to see where this albums takes them next.

Personal Favorite Tracks: What I Know, American Secrets, White Dress

1. Matt Nathanson – Modern Love

Well, duh. Who else would you expect to be in the number 1 spot? But honestly, this is some of Matt’s best work. I was in love with his last album, Some Mad Hope, so hard I never thought he could write anything better. When Modern Love was released, it definitely gave it a run for its money.

The songs on Modern Love range from I don’t need you!, to falling in love, to heartbreak, to you’re-evil-and-I-hate-your-guts. Matt sings each song with that intended emotion, so you believe in every word he sings. You feel it.

The album was released at perfect timing; during the summer, it acted as therapy for my slightly bruised heart. 2011 was an interesting year of boys for me, and this album pretty much seemed like it could have been written specifically for me. Thanks for the soundtrack of my life, Matty. 😉

Personal Favorite Tracks: Modern Love, Kept, Kiss Quick, Queen of (K)nots

There you have it, my friends. So now you know what you missed out on this year, if you weren’t already listening to these! Now go and do yourself a favor, and use those iTunes gift cards you received for Christmas and download these albums.

Posted on December 29, 2011, in Life, Top 5 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Not bad, I own 3 of those! I wasn’t at all surprised by your top 2 choices. Modern Love is by FAR my favorite album of 2011! I was introduced to Marc Broussard this year and I was SO glad I had a chance to see him live 🙂

  1. Pingback: The Top 5 Albums of 2015 You Really Should Have Been Listening To. | CONCERTS & COFFEE

  2. Pingback: The Top 5 Albums of 2015 You Really Should Have Been Listening To. | CONCERTS & COFFEE

Leave a Reply

