The Top 5 Albums of 2014 you really should have been listening to.

Dudes. So this is my fourth year choosing my top 5 albums, and this was the hardest year yet. Having to choose only FIVE was ridiculous. So many fantastic albums were released this year! (And then a few not so great ones. Sorry, Maroon 5…)

ALRIGHT! Let’s get started!

magazines-or-novels
5. Andy Grammer – Magazines or Novels

OK. So this album just came into my life, but it still makes my list because I cannot stop listening to it. I went to a bunch of radio shows at the beginning of this month to see Matt Nathanson, and Andy Grammer was playing three of the same gigs. HE BLEW ME AWAY. Instant love. I went home and downloaded this album as soon as I walked into the door, and I NEVER do that. Then I listened to it for an entire 8 hour drive to Vegas. Still not sick of it after that.

I also just bought a VIP ticket to see him in February. Total music lust. Sad I haven’t been paying attention to him these past few years!

Personal Favorites: Back Home, Kiss You Slow, Remind You

 taylor-album-covers

4. Taylor Swift – 1989

Judge me if you want. But I love all things Taylor Swift. I might even be wearing her perfume at this exact moment.

I have had countless amounts of dance parties in my room to this album. I love it so much, that I even bought it on vinyl. Blank Space is currently on every radio station you switch to, but with lyrics like, “I get drunk on jealousy” and “darling I’m a nightmare dressed as a daydream” HOW CAN YOU HATE IT? Haters gonna hate, hate, hate, hate, hate…

I want to be best friends with her. Her cats and mine can hang out, and we can be in the kitchen baking cookies and do girly things. Swifty, call me.

Personal Favorites: Blank Space, Style, Welcome to New York

 

Ed-Sheeran-x-2014-1200x1200

3. Ed Sheeran – X

I am OBSESSED with this album. (Andy + Ed = all my iPod plays lately.) I think it is because “Thinking Out Loud” has become one of my all time favorite songs. Um. Can I find a dude and get married just so that can be our first dance jam? So in love with the perfection of it.

Ed Sheeran, can you just marry me?

Personal Favorites: Nina, One, I’m a Mess, Thinking Out Loud, All of the Stars

AMitW-album-cover

2. Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness – Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness

I don’t care what name Andrew McMahon releases music under. I will love him always.

I have been an Andrew fan since the Something Corporate days. 12 years, my friends. I blindly bought my first SoCo album because I liked the album cover. Best decision ever, 17 year old Joslyn.

This album reminds me a lot of Jack’s Mannequin’s Everything In Transit. Which is my favorite Andrew album ever. I got to hear a bunch of these songs live for the first time before the album was released; for some reason I feel more attached to an album that way. Must be my obsession with live music.

Personal Favorites: Maps For the Getaway, Halls, Rainy Girl, All Our Lives, High Dive

 

scars

1. Scars on 45 – Safety in Numbers

SURPRISE!

Okay, you’re not surprised. You know how much I talk about this band.

Kids. You NEED to own this album. And it’s not just because they gave the WCM a shout out in the thank you liners (Seriously?! My heart. So much love.)

I listened to their first album on repeat for weeks and weeks on end. And this one? Well, damn. Blows the first one out of the water. It came out in October, and I’ve probably spun it more times than the first album that I’ve owned for 2+ years. So. Damn. Perfect.

I have so much love, and respect for this band. As people and as musicians. Buy it for the good of supporting some of the most wonderful people in my life.

Personal Favorites: I Don’t Wanna Break, Take You Home, Golden, Fading Bright Eyes Dark

Posted on December 23, 2014, in Top 5 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

