The Top 5 Albums of 2015 You Really Should Have Been Listening To.

YES! It’s my favorite time of year (December, because I love all things Christmas) but also the end of the year because I get to talk about what music I loved the most. So let’s get right into it, for the fifth straight year! Hooray.

5. Kelly Clarkson – Piece By Piece

piecebypiece

I won’t lie. When this album first came out, I gave it a listen, was kinda “eh” about it, and then didn’t listen to it again until a few months later. When I came back to it, I was like “What is wrong with me, there are some amazing tracks on here!”

It’s not my favorite Kelly album (Breakaway and Stronger forever) but I think that’s because this album took a different approach than what her others have sounded like. But has any Kelly album ever sounded the same? No. And I love that about her.

Personal Favorite Tracks: Someone, Nostalgic, War Paint, Dance With Me

 

4. Rachel Platten – Fight Song EP

tumblr_inline_no8voojeDi1qzw8hd_500

I was waiting, and waiting, and waiting, and waiting for Rachel’s album to come out all year. It kept getting pushed back further and further, and finally it had a release date: January 1, 2016. ARGH!

I still wanted to include the Fight Song EP on this year’s list though, because I listened to the EP a billion times on repeat and it is gold. If the rest of the album is as good as these tracks, you know that it’ll make 2016’s list (and there’s a duet with Andy Grammer and I am anticipating! Is it Friday yet?!)

Personal Favorite Tracks: Lone Ranger, Congratulations, Beating Me Up

 

3. Andy Grammer – Magazines or Novels (Deluxe)

Andy-Grammer-Magazines-or-Novels-Deluxe-Edition-2015-2480x2480

Okay, this is kind of a total cheat because this was on my list last year as well. This time last year I had only had the album for a few short weeks though (oh what a difference a year and 19 shows later makes…) and the album got re-released a few weeks ago as a deluxe album with bonus tracks so…obviously it had to make the list, right?!

A year later, and my favorite songs are still my favorites, but the bonus songs are JAM!

You all know how much I love the Grammer, so I’ll just leave this as is. FAVE.

Personal Favorite Tracks: Back Home, Remind You, Kiss You Slow, Good To Be Alive (Hallelujah)

 

 

2. Lifehouse – Out Of The Wasteland

LIFEHOUSE_OOTW_Cover_Final-1050x1050

 

LIFEHOUSE IS BAAAACK!!!!

Out Of The Wasteland is a total comeback from their last release, Almeria, which did not go over with most fans and critics. There are multiple songs on this album that welcome back sounds from previous albums; most tracks make me reminisce to No Name Face (aka my favorite album of all time.) I watched an interview that Lifehouse did for Guitar Center and Jason had said that they had passed on some “radio friendly” tracks to really make sure they were creating an album with dept, and I am so happy with the outcome.

There were a few different versions of the album that were released (deluxe, Target addition, iTunes addition) which I ended up purchasing all three versions of for the additional bonus tracks (do it, worth every penny!)

I have been a fan of this band for half of my life, and this album just reminds me exactly why. Now, I’ll continue to patiently wait for a headlining US Tour for this album…

Personal Favorite Tracks: Hurricane, Flight, Firing Squad, Yesterday’s Son

 

1. Matt Nathanson – Show Me Your Fangs

tumblr_ns7pu9NMAx1rs9trzo1_1280

YOU GUYS. NEW MATT ALBUM.

So, there’s multiple reasons this is number one. 1. It’s Matt. Duh. 2. This album blows me away. Seriously. When it was first released back in October, I was so crazy about it I thought that it had bumped 2007’s Some Mad Hope out of first place of all time favorite Matt albums (I calmed down and realized that SMH will always be #1 in my heart, but this is pretty much like #1.25; that’s how much I love it.)

There are so many great tracks on this album, it’s hard to choose a favorite. With lines like, “I just wanna for once feel love, I just wanna be done with lonely” to “I’m done trying to fit in and be half forgiven for things that I never did” to “I won’t only love you when you’re winning” UGH MY HEART. The first time I heard Bill Murray I was sitting at my desk at work, and I was just CRYING my eyes out. And Disappear just pulls every single heart string.

I went to 16 shows on the Show Me Your Fangs Tour (blogs soon, I promise!) and the songs execute live so well. Favorite tour I’ve ever attended. Favorite dude ever. Favorite, favorite, favorite.

Personal Favorite Tracks: Disappear, Giants, Bill Murray
Check out previous years’ lists here:
2014
2013
Posted on December 30, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

